h1

Chapter 3: Refusing to Be Afraid of the Dark

June 27, 2010

Thank you for coming back for week three of our study, Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On – Trusting God in the Tough Times by Stormie Omartian. I hope you are enjoying our study in learning to trust God.

Let’s open with a word of prayer.  Heavenly Father, we thank you for your Word and your love for us.  We are grateful to know that you are with us throughout this difficult journey.  We know you love our children more than we do and trust that you are working in their hearts.  Help us to focus on You, Father and transform us into the men and women you created us to be.  You are the potter, we are the clay.  Have you way with us and we trust in you.  Amen.

Refusing to Be Afraid of the Dark

Have you ever wondered why many of us are afraid of the dark?  Do you have a specific memory from your childhood where you first learned to be afraid of the dark?  For me, darkness represents my inability to be able to see the world around me and the dangers I perceive to be lurking in the darkness.  In Chapter 3, Refusing to Be Afraid of the Dark, Stormie helps us understand the types of darkness in our lives including:  spiritual darkness, darkness that comes from negative emotions, darkness from selfish demands that satisfy our flesh and darkness from living in disobedience to God.  (Page 29)  When I read these 4 types of darkness, I immediately thought of my prodigal and how she is experiencing all 4 of them.  As soon as the thought entered my mind, I felt God saying ‘the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.  This is not about our daughter…this is about you’.  Perhaps you are like me and at some point in time, you have lived in all of these types of darkness.  Why?  Because we took our focus off of Him and concentrated on our own desire.  But there is good news!  God gives us a way of out the darkness – by returning to Him.

Stormie reminds us that as long as we have a personal relationship with the Lord, we have a light in us that cannot be put out.  (Page 30)  Isn’t that comforting to know?  God wants us to know that He is constantly there, even when we cannot see it, or feel it.  Stormie says it like this “He wants you to be completely sure that the light of His Spirit in you will never be put out”.  (Page 30)  She goes on to say that “no circumstance can dim it.  It is there for now and all eternity”.  I pray that this will bring you comfort today.  God’s light is in you – always!

So, why do we experience darkness in our lives?  God uses the dark times in our lives to create dependency on Him so that He may teach us, guide us and mold us into the men and women He wants us to become.  Stormie says it beautifully like this “We’re in the dark until we see His light in it.  He wants us to reach out for Him so we can walk together in the same direction.  He desires that we draw close so that we sense His presence at all times”.  (Page 31)  She goes on to say that “the treasure we find in the darkness is Him”.  (Page 31)  The Lord is our treasure!  I have met many parents throughout this journey and have seen first-hand how the Lord has become their treasure and transformed their lives.  I have witnessed people with a head knowledge of who Jesus was, who now have Him living in their heart.  Men and women who did not know Jesus at all, now teach Bible studies or work in ministries.  They have found the treasure in the darkness.  How?  “His presence and His light are there for those who open their eyes to see it, and He brings good out of every situation”.  (Page 32)

If you are like me, you are walking in one of the darkest periods of your life.  Will you join me in opening your eyes to see the light that comes from our mighty God?  “If you feel like you’re in a dark place in your circumstances right now, know that God has not abandoned you.  You are not wandering aimlessly.  He sees the path you are on.  For the ways of man are before the eyes of the LORD, And He ponders all his paths. (Proverbs 5:21) He is there with you in great power and wants you to realize how much He loves you”.  (Page 35)

Let’s Discuss

How have you found the treasure in the darkness?  How has God transformed your life in this journey?

We look forward to hearing from you.

2 comments

  1. Through this difficult journey of my daughter in this lifestyle, I am learning to increase my knowledge of Him. I’m reminded, He brings good out of every situation. I appreciate Stormie’s comment: sometimes what seems like the darkest step we’ve ever been on comes just before the brightest light we’ve ever experienced. I’m learning to share my feelings with my prayer warriors. They listen, give me encouragement & pray for my daughter & us. I need to keep reminding myself to be still and know that He is God. All we need to do is reach out to Him & He will give us a sense He is there. He wants me to take His hand & walk every step with Him & trust Him.


  2. Just the other day, a Christian friend at work said to me…”Patti, you are a very strong Christian woman.” She knew some things that are going on in our family. I felt like yelling..NO I AM JUST A CRAZY WOMAN!! I squashed the inclination of that kinda hysterical remark and calmly said..”He is strong within me”. Both retorts would have been true. When I am operating in the flesh of my own understanding I am a CRAZY WOMAN! But the feeling is so uncomfortable, I run for God’s hand and His Spirit in me and He that is within stengthens me.
    He does meet us in the darkness and speak in the darkness. He does become the light within us so that even when others notice, we are grateful that His glory shines through.
    There is much darkness in this ol’ world of ours. No doubt about that…but Stormy is right. Darkness prepares us for His great light. In some of my darkest hours, God has been so faithful in delivering the light. Sometimes in miraculous works.
    I am so grateful that He shows through instead of that CRAZY WOMAN I feel welling up sometimes. That is the grace of God and His glory.
    That is His love for us. We never quit loving our Father. He is our Father and our best friend.Praying becomes all day as we go about our day. Praying in circumstances during the day, Praying that He lead the day and work His purpose in the day.
    The darkness can be very scarey at times. But as His precious kids, we can reach out to the Father to dispel the fear…and He is faithful. And we can find treasures in the darkness. Faith unwavering is one.
    This was a very good chapter. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thankyou.God Bless all of us as we progress in this book.



Leave a comment