h1

Chapter 2: Beginning to See the Light

May 23, 2010

Thank you for coming back for week two of our study, Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On – Trusting God in the Tough Times by Stormie Omartian.  I hope you found yourself challenged last week to take each step while holding the hand of our mighty God.

Let’s open with a word of prayer.  Heavenly Father, we are grateful for this study and the opportunity to grow deeper in our faith in You. Teach us Father what it is you want us to know about you and your son, Jesus.  Help us to focus on You as You work in the lives of our children.  Amen

Beginning to See the Light

I am certain we all understand that Jesus is the Light of the World, but I have to admit, Stormie offers new insight for me.  Every type of light we will ever encounter in our lives will eventually go out.  God is the only light is 100% reliable. His light is constant and never changing because God does not change.  I remember going thru a difficult time in my life when God seemed so far away.  I asked a friend ‘where did God go?  I feel so alone’.  She responded ‘God didn’t move.  Did you?’  Stormie says it like this “His light doesn’t grow dim or go out.  If it appears to, it’s because we have stepped out of the light of His presence”.  (Page 23)  When we become depressed over the trial in our life, we must make certain we are standing in the light of His presence and have not wandered in the counterfeit light of the enemy.

In His light, truth is revealed to us.  The stronger our walks with the Lord becomes, the brighter his light be illuminated to us.  Stormie says that God “gives us as much of His presence as we are able to receive”.  (Page 23)  So, how do we make certain we are walking in the light of the Lord and receiving as much of His presence as possible?  Stormie gives us an interesting analogy.  “I have electricity in my home, but if I don’t plug into it, I don’t see the light.  I have Jesus in my heart, but if I don’t plug into Him daily, I won’t see His light either, even though it is there.  I have to connect with Him.  Talk to Him.  Worship Him.  Spend time with him.  Bask in His radiance like bathing in the sun”.  (Page 24)

Let’s Discuss:

How do you connect with God?  What does your daily time with Him look like? What ideas for connecting with God can you share with your fellow parents?

I look forward to hearing from you.

3 comments

  1. Each morning I read several different devotions and also read His word. I read in my room where it is silent so I can focus on Him. I listen to Christian music during the day while I’m at work. I pray first thing in the morning when I wake up. I pray throughout the day. I pray before I go to sleep at night. God’s light is constant. He is constant. John 8:12 Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” We are never truly in darkness when we look to Him.


  2. I, like Judy, start my day with reading his word. I get up before everyone else in the family so that I can have this alone quiet time. It is so important to me. I then, spend time praying for each of my 4 children and for others that God puts on my heart. A cool thing happened last week, in my morning prayer this friend of mine kept popping into my head. So, I called her and told that God had been putting her on my heart during my morning prayers and asked her if everything was ok. She then began telling me about a battle with depression that she had been going through and thought it was the sweetest thing that our Father had put her on my heart. I can’t wait until someday when we and our children see how much they have been prayed for!!!! Last night’s conference call was so uplifting to me. I had a tough day with my daughter and last night just reminded me the battle is not mine. I am giving to the Lord again!!!


  3. One thing I have found so beneficial to me is that I prayer walk during my work lunch hour. My job is in a residential area with lots of trees and I enjoy the solitude and time with God. Sometimes I get so involved in praying so hard that I am overcome with weeping. Well … last week I was verbalizing a letter to my daughter and just spilling my heart out to her when a jogger passed me and looked at me like I was a bit crazy. I had to laugh at what he must have heard and what he must of thought.
    Oh Susan, I know … I do not know how many times I have surrendered my daughter to the Lord. It is a continuous struggle with me.
    “Don’t be dismayed by delay. God knows the beginning and the end. Entrust your promise to the faithful One who will bring it to pass in His perfect timing.”



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

