h1

Chapter 1: Learning to Walk

May 16, 2010

Today we begin our study of Stormie Omartian’s book Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On – Trusting God in the Tough Times.  Let us begin with a word of prayer:

Heavenly Father, we thank you for this time to come together to learn more about You.  Help us to take our focus off of our children, Lord and place it on You.  Teach us Father how to walk more closely with you.  Open our hearts to you, Lord and speak to each of us during the coming weeks as we learn to trust in you.  Amen

Learning to Walk

I thought it was appropriate that our study begins with the concept of how children learn to walk.  Do you remember the day when you child took their first steps?  Remember how they held your hand until they gained confidence in themselves?  Then they released your hand to make their way into their new world opening around them.  Stormie tells us that this is not what God wants for us.  He wants us to hold His hand tightly and to rely on Him as we take each step.  Why?  So that we may enjoy freedom – the type of freedom that comes from being on the path that God has planned for us.  God has plans for each of us that are beyond our wildest dreams, but we cannot reach them without His help.  We must learn to depend on God so that He can be strong in us.

I love the sound of God being strong in me.  How about you?  Are you ready to learn to walk to with God?  Stormie tells us to take his hand and pray this prayer:  ‘Lead me in the path You have for me, Lord.  From this day on, I want to walk with you.  I take this step of faith and I trust in You to meet me here.  Align my heart with Yours’.

Let’s Discuss:

As you take one step at a time, holding God’s hand and letting Him lead, He will get you where you need to go.  How willing are you to let God lead you where you need to go?  How would you like to see your walk with God change?  How will learning to depend on God lead you through this difficult time in your life?

I look forward to hearing how you are learning to walk with God and trust in Him.

6 comments

  1. Janet, I love the idea of having a Bible Study together! I have been reading this book during the past few months. It has been such an encouragement to me! Reflecting on taking one step at a time…takes me back 6 years ago when I first found out about my daughter’s relationship. It was so devastating to me and my husband. I felt abandoned by God. Yet, although things have not changed that much, God has held my in his arms and is walking me through this challenge one step at a time. Through my dark days, God has showed me his unconditional love. He has shown me how to have the JOY of the LORD as my STRENGTH. I have and am still learning to walk in faith. I am holding on to the promise that ALL THINGS WORK FOR GOOD FOR THOSE WHO LOVE THE LORD. I do love Jesus and don’t know how any one in this world can make it without Him in their life. “What he did for Janet, he can do for our children.” Thank-you Janet for your encouragement and inspiration!!!


  2. Janet, thank you for this Bible study. I have read only the first chapter of the book since my husband took it and has almost completed it. I recall the early days of this journey, the pain, tears, anger, anguish and more pain. What I remember the most is the loving arms of my Jesus wrapped securely around me through it all. When my faith begins to waiver He picks me up again, sometimes I can’t take the next step but God always holds His hand out and says, “here child, we will do it together”. I am so grateful to be a child of a living God, one who is always present and heres my every cry/need. I’m thankful for this network of “friends”, the encouragement I get from reading the posts are wonderful. Blessings to each one.


  3. I’ve really enjoy reading Stormie’s book. I read each day the sentences you posted, Lead me in the path You have for me, Lord & the following sentences. I know He will get me where I need to go. I need to always trust the Lord. I need to remind myself how dependent upon Him I must be. I need to repeat every day “show me the way in which I should walk and the thing I should do. God has a plan. God is awesome. I’m holding His hand and letting Him lead. Thank you, Lord, that You are teaching me how to walk in total dependence upon You. Thank you Janet & Jan.
    Love you


  4. I just received my book yesterday so forgive me for being late.
    “At those times I walk in surrender to faith, unable to see the future and not fully comprehending the past.” (Just Enough Light)
    This has been my continuous walk over this past year – surrender, trust and faith. I cannot look too far down the road I can only hold tightly to my Lord’s hand and trust Him.


  5. I am thoroughly enjoying this God sent book from this lovely author. Lately I have been challenged to enter into the darkness. But God is faithful and always catches me when I put my big toe into that darkness. The darkness is so painful that it causes us to cry out to HIM. And He is so faithful.
    Our families can be a slippery slope into the darkness. Our love for them and pain when we can’t stop them from jumping into what we perceive to be a huge mess is excrutiating at times.I used to teach my kids that the commandments were there so we wouldn’t hurt ourselves or others-not because God is going to hit us with the thunderbolt! We create our own electrocution. God is not responsible.
    We hurt for where we see they are going. They throw us out of their lives because we remind them,just by being who we are, where they are not. The Lord spoke to me very clearly to ‘be still’. He also spoke to me and advised that I NOT enter into the land of the enemy-emotionally, physically(by attempting rescue efforts of my own prematurely). The enemy is darkness, as is pointed out in this book. This can be emotional or physical darkness. When we cry out to God He is faithful. He has promised that He will deliver my children from the land of the enemy. All we have to do is believe,trust and love Him. And accept His love freely. Believe…..wow!
    Sound simple…..hah! Not. The enemy has many presentations. As we grow, we just think we have something down pat and Wham! Here comes another presentation. Stormie is so right. God is teaching as we run into His arms. Personally, probably my Irish descent, I tend to like to get feisty and then grieve with great emotion…..then run for cover under the shadow of His wings. Slow learner, I guess. But He is ever faithful even when I’m being a putz. That is love and grace beyond human abilities.
    All things do work together for the good of those who love the Lord- what a wonderful promise from Him. Such truth Susan.
    I pray that He keeps us from the darkness by walking each step following the light of His being and we get wiser in recognizing the the many presentations of darkness and quicker to run into His arms.
    I love this encouragement from the wisdom of this very special sister. Thankyou Jesus.
    My favorite and life saving scripture is “Thou wilt keep Him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on Thee” AMEN
    Ruth, I hear you! Thank God for all of us sharing this crazy life. We survive and flourish knowing He is our life. Even when we are being a putz.


  6. PS…..I thank God for this ministry and am so blessed to see where it is heading. I love walking in the growth of it. I love the way God uses you Janet. I love the way it feeds our souls with His truth and Spirit. And I am so grateful to be able to share my heart and to share all of yours. We are His.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

